mtbr member
    Nov 2008

How is the Merida Trans-Mission TFS 900-D?

Hi,

I've been riding an entry-level hardtail for about six months, and i would like to upgrade to a full-suspension bike for mostly XC and a bit of AM.
    My LBS has offered me a trade-in deal for a Merida Trans-Mission TFS 900-D
    For the price offered (even without the trade-in discount), this bike seems to have much better components than other brands. I tried it out, and it feel nice and smooth, but i guess that's because of the transition to FS.
    The review seems to be quite positive (like all reviews for all bikes ).
    I would like to hear from other folks who have tried it out, what they have to say. If anyone owns this bike for a while, how durable is it?

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    Fuzz,

One of my primary mtb buddies rides the 2006 Mission Light, it has seen a lot of hard miles and I have ridden it quite a bit. His bike has a DT Swiss rear shock and Reba SL fork, so keep this in mind when reading my impression.

I'll start with durability: very durable, no bearing play at all after many hard miles and rarely being cleaned. The suspension action is not as plush as other horst-type suspensions out there, but the suspension platform on the one I rode was more efficient than many I have tried in the past. If I were to give up my affinity for VPP designs, I'd seriously consider this one.

His bike is very well balanced, and really flows nicely through fast sections of trail. A tad heavy (now with discs), but I'm more willing to slam the Mission through stuff than I am the typical lightweight XC bikes that I prefer.

One problem for me is that Merida and Mierda look too much the same, one being a nice bike, the other being crap (literally). But that's a personal problem...

If nothing else, I'd recommend it to a friend. Good luck with your decision.

G.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    thanks, gringo