Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Here goes nothing...need some help :)

723 views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  jeremy5000 
#1 ·
Here goes nothing, I am VERY new to cycling. I want to do it for 2 main reasons, Health/weight loss and FUN. Currently I am a stay at home dad and have 2 hours in the morning and multiple at night for riding during the week and anytime on weekends. So basically i sit around most of the day which is why i came to the realization that i need to get off my couch or chair and exercise more than chasing my kids or dog. Any help will be greatly appreciated as i know NOTHING except how to ride a bike :)

1) Your budget. Trying to keep it inexpensive at first somewhere in the neighborhood of 400.00 would be nice to start out on.

2) What bikes, if any, are you already considering? http://pvbikeshop.com/itemdetails.cfm?libid=48414

http://bikeway.com/itemdetails.cfm?libid=47824#ReviewHeader

3) What type of riding do you intend to do? I would say 95% Paved paths and streets.

4) Do you have a preference over a hardtail or full suspension? Not really just noticed that hardtails are more in my price range at the moment.

5) Age, weight and height. 28, 365-370, 6'4''

6) What sources will you consider buying from? Local bike shops both are on the links above. I would consider online as long as i knew what to look for :) Craigslist and ebay all those kinds of methods would be acceptable as well.

7) Do you want people to offer you alternative suggestions to issues such as budget, bikes already considered, and sources? Absolutely all suggestions will be considered i value the opinions of those of you on this forum.

Thanks to all that post advice for me!

See less See more
#2 ·
for your budget its a definate hardtail if you want anything remotely decent.