mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Hello, New to the forum and have some questions about my bike if anyone can help?

Hi all

I'm new to the mtbr forum but have been cycling for a couple of years. First proper bike was a 2013 cannondale badboy that got stolen from my university halls, my second bike was a charge greater 3 2014........ that got stolen from my university halls. A week later! (they were both locked in a bike shed so was not due to buying cheap locks). My current is a specialized crosstrail elite 2014 that I'm really happy with.

I have always personalized my transport whether it be my car or bicycle to fit my needs. I use the bike for fitness and commuting.

My question is to do with my gearing setup:

Shifters 20 Speed SRAM SL-700, 2x10-speed
    Front Mech SRAM X7, 2-speed
    Rear Mech SRAM X9, 10-speed
    Chainset SRAM S600, 10-Speed 48/32t
    Bottom Bracket SRAM GXP
    Chain KMC X-10, 10-speed, reusable Missing Link
    Cassette SRAM PG-1050, 10-speed, 11-36

I have always used shimano components over sram through product reveiws and lack of ever having a bike equiped with any sram products, up till now.

Shall i keep the sram setup or change to shimano? - opinions on Pros and cons?

I ride the bike on roads/rough roads, partial tracks and like the capability to be able to do some rough stuff if needed.

Id also like some help stripping some weight off the bike and sorting the gearing out so i can get some extra speed on road. MY current plan is to ditch the inner 32t chain ring, front derailer and shifter as they are not used due to always keep my bike on the 48t chain ring. (I'll also fit a chain guide to keep the chain on when changing through gears on the cassette).

what are your guys views and ideas towards my project. Any recommendations for parts to upgrade or modify?

Thanks for reading my post

Graham

Bicycle Addict