Big Mtn Biker
    Jul 2007

New question here. Full Suspension Vs. Hardtail

Having always had a hardtail I have played with the idea of retiring my Cannondale CAAD 2 F400 Hardtail that I bought in 1998 (I think) for a full suspension ride. My concern is whether or not the full suspension handle my weight (6'4 285 lbs)? I have no experience with full suspension so I don't really know their capabilities but have heard nothing but good things about them. Is there one better than the others? or is just personal preference? Any and all advice welcomed and appreciated!!!

On MTBR hiatus :(
    Quote Originally Posted by bigmtnman
    Having always had a hardtail I have played with the idea of retiring my Cannondale CAAD 2 F400 Hardtail that I bought in 1998 (I think) for a full suspension ride. My concern is whether or not the full suspension handle my weight (6'4 285 lbs)? I have no experience with full suspension so I don't really know their capabilities but have heard nothing but good things about them. Is there one better than the others? or is just personal preference? Any and all advice welcomed and appreciated!!!
    First off, yeah, no problem with your weight. Just make sure you're looking at a bike with a relatively low suspension ratio. A 5" travel with a 2" stroke shock is an example (Iron Horse MkIII comes to mind, only because that was the last buff dualie I owned, but there are tons of others with similar numbers). As long as it's not a light weight race frame, you ought to be ok. Low leverage ratio means you'll be running low air pressures (or spring rates) on your rear shock.

First piece of unsolicited advice: keep your hardtail. Always great to have a backup bike, and you're not going to get much for it.