mtbr member

Full Suspension Frame Decision

I bought this Trek 4300 last Summer, but the trails I normally ride are extremely rooty and rocky. I really need a full suspension bike, but don't have a ton of money to spend. I thought about buying a new FS frame and transfering all my components over to it to save money. I found this frame here in GA on craigslist for only $190. The frame size is LRG, and I'm not sure if I would have any problems or not transferring all my components from my Trek to this Specialized FS frame.

Here's the frame I want to buy. It's a 2006 Specialized Epic Comp FSR; LRG frame size. Looks well kept, but I'm no expert as to what to look for...
    Full Suspension Frame Decision-3e23j93h85nc5gf5fdd57979747604c341529.jpg

Here's my 2012 Trek 4300. Everything is stock except for the fork. I upgraded to the Suntour Raidon Air Fork. It's 19.5'' frame size 26er.

"Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up." Galatians 6:9

mtbr member
    I think 190 for that Epic frame a great deal if everything is in working condition. That looks like the S-Works version which was made from Specialized's M5 aluminum (very light)

Things to look out for:
    -Failing rear shock (it can be replaced or serviced, but that is expensive if you are on a budget)
    -Bushings for the rear suspension and rear triangle. its hard to tell what shape they are in when its just a frame, but move it and see if its quiet or if there is any play side to side.
    -Cracks or big dents. For 190 bucks who cares if its scratched or has chips. Cracks and dents are another story.

The large size should fit you fine. XL is probably to big.
    You might have to get a new seatpost to fit that frame. But you can save some weight by doing that as well. Consider it an upgrade.

If that frame came up for sale around me for $190 I would buy it in a heartbeat and build a new bike!

mtbr member