mtbr member

Fox Talas fork and the "Brain" questions

I'm a newb, but have been learning quite a bit and am now looking for my second bike. I'd prefer to buy (another) used bike because I'm still not certain about exactly what I want. I learned quite a bit from the first bike, a 2008 Reign 1 and want to get something a little less "all-mountain," but still full-suspension and medium travel.

I've seen a few Stumpjumper Elites that have a Fox Talas RL front fork which advertises 3 separate travel settings: 100, 120 and 140 mm. This seems like a good thing to me--more options, But I don't know if there might be some drawbacks also.

Some of these bikes come with a Fox rear shock that is controlled by the "Brain" and some of them have "plain" Fox shocks with 3 Pro Pedal settings. I've read here that the 2011 "Brains" have problems, but don't know if those extend to earlier models. Also interested in opinions on the overall value/effectiveness of the Brain in general, especially compared to less automatic rear shock systems.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Previous to this model year the Stumpjumper FSR had 3 travel adjust positions, for 2011 it has been changed to 140mm and 110mm. Which is an improvement in my opinion, and makes operation a bit simpler. I really like the new Talas, it rides great, pop switch to climb, get to the top flip it back to full travel.

I've had bikes with Triads and bikes with Fox Brains. I like the brain because I tend to run my suspension on the stiffer side. So with a Triad I wasn't using all the travel because I wanted a more efficient ride. With the brain set almost all the way firm bike climbs really well but also is plush once the brain opens on decents. It's nice not having to switch the rear shock on and off.