The Next 100 Miler

Delete Front Derailleurs and Frame Design - Sram XX1

I was reading this review of the Sram XX1 1x11 drive train and this quote caught my attention:

"Front derailleurs can be finicky beasts. More to the point, they give frame designers a massive headache (particularly designers who are grappling with squeezing 29er wheels and wide tires into longer travel designs). Taking the front derailleur out of the equation allows for a much wider range of frame designs."

So, are any bike companies changing frame designs specifically to use the XX1 drive train?

I'm not an expert on frame design, so I don't know if the quote above is just marketing hype, or a real design benefit.

mtbr member
    What amazes me is that:

Bike companies can make an incredibly expensive new type of rear hub to squeeze 11 cogs on a wheel.

Make all new incredibly expensive molds to create a new 'tweener tire (650B)

Design incredibly expensive new cranks that only have one ring.

CANNOT design a front derailleur that has the mechanism in front of the seat tube.

mtbr member
    I think the problem is that most manufacturers use the same frame design from lower-mid range models all the way up to top-of-the line.

So until such time that as there is a cheaper 11 speed system available that manufacturers can use in their lower end bikes, we probably wont see if there is any benefit or not.

Si Vis Pacem, Para Bellum
    It would actually be easier to build a frame without a dropout for a front derailleur. I could have a shorter chainstay and shorter seat stays and a seat tube. It would definitely make for a more playful bike.
    Big Wheels Keep On Rolling

Forth Eorlingas!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by MarkP View Post
    So, are any bike companies changing frame designs specifically to use the XX1 drive train?

I'm not an expert on frame design, so I don't know if the quote above is just marketing hype, or a real design benefit.