mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Caldera vs Hoss d-lux

I'm new to the scene, and lookin for a bike XC but leaning toward the AM side of the spectrum. I want to climb and xc and be comfortable, but I also want to be able to drop off sum stuff and be ruff on a bike without worries of breaking sumthin. Ive been researchin for the last week or so reading reviews and goin to forums. These bikes get pretty good reviews I think it may be what Im lookin for, and my LBS can get Kona. Im thinkin of the Cladera but will it be able to hold up, maybe with a fork upgrade, or go with the Hoss but im concerned with weight also. Does anyone know the weight of the two bikes i couldnt find it on konas site.
    Im 5'10 180lbs want to be able to ride everything, of course im a beginner so im not goin to be on anything to crazy for a while, and I want to stay under $1000. Im open for suggestions but most interested in Kona as of now.

ride hard take risks
    I would go with the Kona tryed & true suspension set up to handle many conditions from climbing to decending & even throw down some 3 footers for fun. You dont need a Hoss, save your mony for beter components versus a over built frame. I'm 180 & ride the standard frames with no problem. When you get to 250 start looking at the Hoss.
    Formotion Products
    http://www.formot

mtbr member
    Mar 2005

go Caldera...