mtbr member
    Aug 2012

New question here. Broke my frame today, new bike or frame? What size?

Hi there

So i have an old Rocky Mountain Pipeline from the early 2000's and i was out riding today and broke the frame on the bar in the rear sub triangle below the chainstay. Anyways i was in the process of building it up and modernizing it. (1X drivetrain, x9 shifter derailleur, raceface n/w chain ring, truvativ stem and bars as well as a new fox float for the rear.)I don't know if the frame breaking was a sign to do this right, as i am new to the whole mtb scene and I knew this bike was kind of small for me, but i wanted to build it up as i got better. think its a med (will make sure tomorrow) and i am 6'3'' 210 lbs. however i love to jump, skid, whip and everything in between so i think the smaller bike is a good feel for me. Knowing i want an all mountain, do it all type bike (full Suspension) what frame would be best for my me? 6'3'' 210 Large or Xl. i love the the ability to throw around my bike and feel like i'm in control. My 2nd question is, do i buy a new bike or a new frame and use existing parts off my old rig because i just spent about 300 on new drivetrain and bars combo. I know i will need a new frame and fork, i am trying to keep that under the thousand range. i pretty much have everything else that can go onto my frame. i'm just not really sure about my wheels either. i will prolly be rocking 26'' as it is cheaper but i was maybe even think about putting a 650b upfront and 26 in the rear. Thanks again, will be adding pictures of the break in the frame and wheelset.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    At 6'3", I would at least get out and demo some bikes with larger than 26" wheels. A medium is not even close to a good fit as a mountain bike. At your height, you might be good with one company's large, or an XL from someone else.