mtbr member
    May 2011

Beginner - TREK 3500 vs. Raleigh Talus 3.0

I am completely brand new to the world of mountain biking ("mountain" used loosely)...actually...biking in general. I bought a couple of bikes yesterday (TREK 3500 and the TREK 820 (for the wife)) but have not picked them up and the LBS sells a couple other bikes to choose from in my price range (<350). We will only be biking on paved bike paths / light trails / occasionally off road for me...probably not the wife.

I had no idea the world of mountain biking can go this deep. There is a big following and would definitely appreciate the help and advice as I do see myself getting very involved in the sport.

QUESTION 1 (I am 5'10" 160 lbs)
    I recently found out that the RALEIGH TALUS 3.0 might be a much better bike than the TREK 3500. Can you guys offer some input and reasons why? Thank you.

http://www.raleighusa.com/bikes/mountain/talus-30-11/

http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes.../3_series/3500

QUESTION 2 (She is 5'2" 110 lbs)
    Also, if there is a better bike for the wife than the TREK 820 in the same price range, advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

Did I post this question in the wrong section???
    Last edited by cnp112; 05-03-2011 at 07:20 AM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    There doesn't appear to be that much difference between the two bikes. With a quick scan, the one difference I saw is that the raleigh comes with double wall wheels, which are stronger and possibly lighter. Either should be fine.

Since your wife won't be riding trails, why choose a mtn bike? A hybrid with 700 wheels and possibly a rigid fork will have the same upright riding position, be much lighter, and much easier for her to ride. It would already have tires suitable for road use and would also be suitable for smooth trails.

Good luck

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Thanks...I did some more research and noticed the following points of interest...