mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Smile Anyone ever put dirt bike style seats on their dirt jump/downhill bikes?

I'm just learning about mountain bikes, about to buy my first, coming from a dirtbike background. I was wondering if anyone puts dirt bike style seats on their mountainbikes. I know it wouldn't be good for a crosscountry bike or something that you have to pedal, however for something like a downhill bike, that you don't pedal much, or a dirt jumper that you rarely sit down on, it seems like an awesome idea to me. That way if you are sitting on your downhill bike you could scoot forward or back to shift your weight, or on a dirt jumper if you come down with the frame between your legs you'd land on a cushioned.

The dirt jumpers are the ones that concern me the most. I skateboard quite a bit and see guys at the skateparks on their dirt jumper mountainbikes, and although its awesome to watch them, their whole seat setup just makes me cringe. They usually have it slammed to the very bottom with the nose pointing up, leaving a tiny little one inch area between the wheel and the seat just waiting to suck in anything it can. They go off big jumps, and come down hard enough that often I swear they hit their little comrades on that tire. I cringe thinking of the thought of coming down hard and landing on that tire, and the tire just rolling everything it can grab into that little spot. Might as well just dangle your jewels over a blender. I've asked them if it happens and they say yes, and it hurts for days. Not to mention that, but also the way that seat tip is pointing so high north, its as if its just waiting to violate them next time they land a little too forward.