mtbr member
    Sep 2009

Aloha all! Newbie here...

Hey everyone, greetings from Hawaii! I'm on my way to purchasing my first mountain bike and am excited yet worried at the same time. I've been doing as much research as I could and learned a great deal about things like frame size to all the different components of a bike, terms such as XC, DH, hardtail, full suspension, etc, before finally dishing out some hard-earned $$$ on a bike to start, but I could use some help.

Looking at a handful of brands that are carried by the local shops here on the island of Oahu, I've grown to love the look of Kona bikes (2009+) and thus, am looking into purchasing the Lanai 2009 or wait a bit for when the 2010 models come out. I believe that one of the local shops is having a sale on a handful of Konas but I haven't received word back from them yet via e-mail.

Just to add some information on myself before I go any further, I'm 5' 8.5" tall, 210lbs, and plan to ride my bike at least a few miles a day over a mix of pavement and dirt/rocky terrain. I wanna keep my initial spending low on my first bike (Under $500), but have a lot of room for upgrades if I ever feel I need more out of what I already have. And don't worry, if I ever start going downhill with some of my enthusiast friends, I'm going to upgrade to a more fit bike for that!

So you guys think this is a good starting investment for me? Anything I should definitely replace off-the-bat that won't add more than $200 to my initial spending? I'll probably update this again once I know EXACTLY how much the bike is going to cost me.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009

bike