mtbr member

Advice for first bike please! Please help a girl out...Myka HT vs Myka FSR?

Hey Everyone!

First, thanks for even looking at my post. So, I'm very new to mtn biking and am in the market for my first "real" bike. I was originally going to go with the Myka HT but I came across what sounds to be an amazing deal online. Someone is selling their Myka FSR for $700- it's the 2008 "rim" version, which he originally bought for $1500. He has all of the paperwork, warranty, etc. Bought for his wife, who only put 50 miles on it so would that be considered like new? The pictures look solid and I will at least go and physically check it out. However, my question is: should I just get a new Myka HT at the same price as this slightly used Myka FSR or is the FSR still the better deal? Looking at pix of the FSR vs the HT, I can visually see the differences; some kind of shock/suspension system on the FSR? But could someone tell me the main difference btwn these two models in an easy to understand fashion? Sorry for my lack of knowledge...I'm trying to learn though!
    Thank you very, VERY much...

mtbr member
    First thing to do would be to get your size down if you are a novice rider. After that you might check out the full suspension bikes and compare them to the hardtails. The FSR Myka probably weighs about 4 pounds more than the hardtail and its probably a little bit harder to pedal. If you see yourself riding on relatively smooth trails then maybe you dont need a full suspension bike. If you are going with friends onto a lot of rocky trails and they ride full suspension then consider full suspension.