mtbr member
    Oct 2013

New question here. Advice on buying an old bike

Hello, this is my first time positing here, hope this goes well.

I'm looking to buy a used MTB and i found an offer for a 1995 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR for $300.
    1995 Specialized Stumpjumper FSR - BikePedia

I was wondering, since its such an old bike should i be worried about suspensions or the frame in general being bad. The seller says its in good condition, but I'm just curious about how the bike would age and/or how suspensions age.

Im not to savvy with MTB terms but I'm thinking that i would probably be doing downhills and just general MTBing with it (so specific i know). I would also use it for general commuting.

Also, if i later want to switch out the fork of the bike for something that has disc brakes, what prices should i expect? could i get something for under $200?

To summarize: Found an offer for an old bike, and I'm wondering if theres a possibility that something on it has gone bad.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    All kinds of things can and probably are bad on that old girl. If you want a money pit/project, go ahead. If you want a bike to ride, keep looking.

I Tried Them ALL... Moderator
    A 1995 Stumpy for $300 is way too steep.....unless it's in near-mint condition(highly doubtful - the fork elastomers alone are nearly impossible to source). Save a few more $$ and get yourself a brand-new, Bike Store bike. You will be so much happier.
    "The mind will quit....well before the body does"

T.W.O.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zachariah View Post
    A 1995 Stumpy for $300 is way too steep.....unless it's in near-mint condition(highly doubtful - the fork elastomers alone are nearly impossible to source). Save a few more $$ and get yourself a brand-new, Bike Store bike. You will be so much happier.
    Agree, it's old but not old enough to be that pricy.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013