mtbr member
    Jul 2013

2013 GT Karakoram 2.0 (29er) vs. Diamondback Overdrive Sport (29er)

Hello all,

I recently relocated to Austin, TX and am interested in getting involved in mountain biking. I am a complete novice and have not ridden a bike since I was a little kid. I'm primarily looking for a good entry level bike, but I do not want to spend a TON of money in case mountain biking is not for me.

Through my company, I am able to get a discount on the Diamondback Overdrive Sport. I can get this bike for $522 shipped and it has an MSRP of $750. I do realize that this is a very entry level bike and some people seem to not like it on this forum.

Since there are so many bikes available in Austin, I have been checking craigslist for deals. I stumbled upon a 2013 GT Karakoram 2.0 for $700 on craigslist and it has been used 7-8 times.

Is the GT bike worth the extra $180 even though it is used? Or should I go strictly with the new bike?

Any opinions would be GREATLY appreciated.

Kevin

mtbr member
    The GT is marginally better(fork, drivetrain), but I am not sure that its worth $700 used.

The most important thing is finding a bike that fits you well. What frame size are you looking for?

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    I am looking for a medium frame, so the used one will work for me. So you would recommend the Overdrive Sport for $525 for a complete beginner?

mtbr member
    Here are some better deals:
    Nice bike for the money 26er
    LAPIERRE MTB
    Older, but would be a great first bike
    Specialized Stumpjumper 18"
    Decent older FS in your price range
    Specialized Stumpjumper FSR 100 - Large

If you really want a new bike at a great deal check out Airborne.

Airborne Bicycles

mtbr member
    May 2013