mtbr member
    Jan 2009

1999 Schwinn 4banger Homegrown all mountain..HELP!

A few questions about this bike, any help, opinions or facts would be really cool.

-I know these bikes are prone to crack near the swingarm mounts?? Is there any advise on how to prevent this (torque #'s) Also are all of these (4bangers) prone to crack or just certain years?

-Is it possible to replace the rear SID air shock? if so any suggestions?

-I have read these bikes have somewhat of a cult following! what is the value of this bike in really good condition?

Hey, and if you have ANY info and tips about this bike i would love to hear it. Thanks my friends.

Here is a link with info about the bike: http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...tain&Type=bike

ride hard take risks
    Well I'm no expert on the 4 Banger, I had a customer that rode one extremely hard with no issues and loved it.

As for the cracking it could be the over sized upper pivot, the Lawwill design is awesome and very active.

Optional shocks should be pretty simple to figure out if the eye-to-eye is known. As a guess a modern Pro Pedal shock would not be a good choice because it has no stutter bump compliance which may cause added stress to the lower pivot.
    Formotion Products
    http://www.formot

Former Bike Wrench
    Had a couple of customers back when I wrenched...one with a 2000 4 Banger and one with a Strait 6. The 4 Banger did fail at the shock mount and since in 2003 Schwinn had jack squat for replacement frames...he was kind of SOL.

As far as the shock, I was thinking Cane Creek...but they don't make a replacement (and they make replacements for almost anything). I personally preferred the SID rear shocks to any of the non-propedal Fox air shocks so unless the SID is not working, I'd keep it.