mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Yet another bike purchase question, help me pick one!

Hi all. mtbr newbie here. I have a bit of a conundrum that hopefully you all can helk resolve. First off, I would consider myself an intermediate rider, but my knowledge of bikes is zero. I have been using a friends bike for the past year. I ride every other day, trails, woods-making my own trails, etc... I have been riding a generic, dumpy full suspension bike.

I have in my garage a brand spanking new, never ridden, I think 2006 or 7, GT Outpost. I purchased this bike 3-4 years ago, new and never rode it. It is a hardtail, and has rim brakes, this is where my problem is.

The army is sending our family to Bamberg Germany, for the nex 3 years(at least). The outskirts of Bamberg are supposed to be extremely hilly, and the city has quite a few mountainous, different skill level bike trails around it. The time has come to stop using my friends generic, dumpy, retail giant store bike.

My problem is, do I sell or trade-in my new, never ridden GT Outpost hard-tail for a full suspension bike with disc brakes, or do I keep the GT, and start using it? I think a different bike with the full suspension would be beneficial in Bamberg, and with the hills, I know having disc brakes would be good. HOWEVER, My GT Outpost, although I never rode it, seems like a decent bike.

I went to the lbs, and they tried to sell me a few hard-backs, a Scott Aspect, Spec Hardrock, etc..... I also found a used full suspension Haro XLS for $500.00, that caught my eye.

My budget with the trading in of my GT would be in the 550-700 range.

So, should I keep my GT, or go for something new? I am not limiting my options to just what I named in my post, I am open to pretty much anyting.

PLEASE HELP!!!!!
    Last edited by jaystekan; 09-11-2011 at 04:02 PM.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011