1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

And yet... another bike info thread

I'm a noob returning to MTB after a 12 year absence. I'm buying a new bike and I'm interested in you guys opinions. I'm torn between:

- Cannondale Trail 5
    - Trek 4300

- Cannondale Trail 29er 5
    - Trek Marlin w/ upgraded Elixir hydraulic brakes @ $780

I'm a 26 rider currently, so I'm not exactly sure what to think of the whole 29er effect. Yeah you can say go to the lbs and try it but the true test of knowing if you like it when you take an unfamiliar bike system into the trail a few times and see how it performs in your hands. Honestly I'm scared of testing the 29er, liking it on the lbs and taking it to the trail and hating it, then I'll have to sell it out and I'm out of a bike and money (if that makes any sense to you all).

Thanks in advance for all three help you can give me.

Raf

Sent from my GT-N8013 using Tapatalk HD

mtbr member
    No input anyone? Well, I'm going to test ride them tonight after work. I was hoping on having some input from the communitty before I walked into the lbs to try them out. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for all the help you can give me.

Raf

mtbr member
    Jul 2011