1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Winter is here again

Winter is here again, so itís time to obsess over gear.
    I turned 39 last week. This kind of got me into a - I donít want this to be my mid-life crisis mode and need to do more to improve my health and fitness. I am still a novice when it comes to technical riding, but I make up for my lack of skill with enthusiasm. Iíve lost almost 50 pounds since taking up riding again about 3.5 years ago, and I intend to lose another 50.
    So here is my latest dilemma. I will be racing next season as a 40+ clydesdale, and as some of you may know, they are faster than the young guys. I usually finish last in the races Iíve entered before, but would like to change that. I will be working extensively on the engine this winter, but my skills are still lacking. Part of the reason my skills are lacking is confidence and bravery. I was making good progress last summer until I crashed. I ended up with a handful of stitches in my knee and bruising my liver and ribs. After that Iíve been riding much more timid when going downhill or in technical sections. Iím much faster on buff singletrack once my ribs healed. I walk a lot at some of my local trails because I am scared.