1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012

Will wider tires fit on my rim or does rim also need to be changed?

I am just learning all the parts of my mtn bike. My wheels are 1.95. I would eventually like to beef them up a bit. My front rim says ALEX MX18 and my back rim is just silver with no branding anywhere. Both tires have 26x1.95. To go with a wider tire do I also need to get wider rims?

Thanks!

What could go wrong ...
    "Both tires have 26x1.95. To go with a wider tire do I also need to get wider rims?"

No, you can run any 26" tire
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by smac75 View Post
    I am just learning all the parts of my mtn bike. My wheels are 1.95. I would eventually like to beef them up a bit. My front rim says ALEX MX18 and my back rim is just silver with no branding anywhere. Both tires have 26x1.95. To go with a wider tire do I also need to get wider rims?

Thanks!
    The rims are not the problem.....you can difinately run wider tires...

Probably somewhere around 2.35 inch the rear tire will start getting to big to easily remove the rear wheel, cause the tire will hit the frame.

local trails rider