PMA
    mtbr member
    May 2015

Will a BB30 fit my bike ?

Hi. Noob here.

I have tried searching before posting but Im still confused.
    I have never changed anything on a MTB before so its all new to me.
    I have a Carerra Vulcan 2009 which suits my needs but I have managed to get some nice upgrade parts. The question is will & how does it fit.
    Its an Sram X0 crank 3x10 speed bb30. I have searched that my bike has a square taper bb. Is it a question of simply removing this old bb & fitting the new bb30 or is it more complicated.

Thanks

mtbr member
    No you can't use a BB 30. Your bottom bracket shell is threaded and smaller diameter. BB 30 is a press fit, not for threaded shells, and is a bigger diameter.

mtbr member
    Difficult to find info on that bike. Was about to suggest a BB adapter, but Bike Radar indicates a SRAM S200 crankset, which implies a "power spline" square taper bottom bracket. In brief, no adapter out there that I'm aware of.

Check out this doc from SRAM re compatibility:
    https://sram-cdn-pull-zone-gsdesign....components.pdf

PMA
    mtbr member
    May 2015
    Thanks for your replies. So it basically sounds like a no it cant be changed. In that case will I still be able to use the existing Suntour CW XCT chainset if I upgrade the the rear derailleur with an Sram X0 & PC 1091 chain or should I just give up any hope of making this bike better. Thanks

mtbr member
    I would not pour too much money into that bike. I can't find much info on the 2009 model but the current model is a very entry-level bike.

the PC 1091 is a 10-speed chain for 10 speed drivetrains. depending on the year of the XO rear derailleur, that's probably a 10-speed derailleur. do you have a 10-speed cassette and shifter to go with it? you will need to have all those things or none of it will work together.