mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Why upgrade my cheap fork? Benefits?

I have had be 29er for about 2 years. It has Suntour XCR front fork. It does the job but I am curious how I could benefit from replacing it with a better fork.

So what would a better fork actually do for me?
    What are the noticeable differences when riding?

As a noob, I can think of a few things. Lighter, more adjustable, and stiffer (I don't know why stiffer is preferred though).

mtbr member
    What type of trails do you ride?

mtbr member

Re: Why upgrade my cheap fork? Benefits?

A suspension fork should do two things.
    1. Cushion your ride
    2. Keep your tire in contact with the ground for better control.

Cheaper forks don't necessarily do them both well. A good fork will allow you to adjust to optimize both to suit your conditions and terrain.

Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    The Suntour 'X' series forks are good for bike path types of terrain.
    You don't need an upgrade if that is how you ride. Maybe no more difficult/fun trails are near where you can ride.
    My Manitou Tower Pro has damping qualities I immediately notice bombing down to a curve with roots and rocks past trees and on to more of the same.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    I ride "intermediate level" single track trails. They mostly flow through wooded areas. They typically don't have long inclines or descents but short ups and downs. I encounter rocks, roots, and a few small logs. There are no huge drop offs.

I haven't the courage or stamina to hit the advance trails yet but maybe one day.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    The fork would make the advanced trails doable.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009