mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Who works on their own bikes and who takes them to the LBS?

Who works on their own bikes and who takes them to the LBS?-old-rusty-bike-big-900x597.jpg
    Today we’re going to talk about the guy that owns this bike, the scourge of the professional bicycle mechanic. A man that doesn’t care what happens to his bike or his mother. A godless man who tips 4% and eats the last cookie without even asking.
    The most uninterested man in the world.
    He doesn’t always clean his bike, but when he does, he throws it in the ocean and waits for it to wash back to shore.

I want to make a case for working on your own bike. At least give it a try!

I jotted down some other reasons in a recent blog article, you can find it here if you feel like an informational laugh.

Keep the rubber side down! Cheers!

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Definitely a good article...those reasons are among the reasons I started learning maintenance myself, which ultimately led to being a shop mechanic. I think everyone who rides should learn at least basic maintenance...or at the very least clean and take care of their bike so it doesn't end up like the one above.

It's a bit of a double edged sword, though. If everyone learned how to fully maintain their bikes, a lot of shops would go out of business and there would be less bike mechanics out there. Even so, I still teach bike repair clinics and allow customers watch what I'm doing if I'm not swamped.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Re: Who works on their own bikes and who takes them to the LBS?

The thread title is misleading.

Anyways, I clean my own bike. Any work that requires specialty tools or skills, I have the bike shop do it for me.

For now, the only technical work I can do is fix a flat tire. My local shop has to do the cable adjustments and fork maintenance for me.
    What works for me may not work for you. What's best for you depends on many factors. We are different from each other.

mtbr member