1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Always good times....
    Aug 2008

When upgrading forks

What do I need to look at and what do I need to ensure matches up like as far as sizing goes? I know pretty vague but I am new to this and I am trying to learn. Thank you for your time.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    The standard for the past decade or so has been the 1 1/8" threadless headset. The fork steerer tube will be 1 1/18" in diameter, the headset inner diameter is also ~1 1/8" headset. The outer diameter of the headset and inner diameter of the bike head tube are 1.5". This is the old standard set up, and is easily upgradeable. Newer head tubes on the bikes take different types of headsets, but will still accomodate the 1 1/8" steerer tubes. If you are considering upgrading your fork, you could be looking at an expense nearing the cost of a new bike, just depends on how good a fork you want.