mtbr member
    Jan 2010

wheel popped out of dropout

I'm new to mtbs, Just got my Jamis Komodo a week ago. Already been on 2 pretty long rides (about 6 miles each), had one flat...and a couple of wrecks. Anyways, today I go for a short ride but with a steep climb. I get about halfway up the climb and decide to stand up. On the first crank turn I suddenly stop and the pedal is froze. I think, oh no, what have I broke. A quick inspection showed the rear wheel came out of the dropout and the wheel moved forward and was lodged up against the rear stay crossmember. Never had this happen before on my road bike. I think I had it in tight but I guess I should have re-tightened the skewer after the first few miles (ridden the other day). Only took a minute to get it fixed and back rolling. I actually needed the break because it allowed me to finish the climb without walking the bike like I had to do on this same hill the other day. Anyways, just wondering if this has happened to anyone else and if it was because I didn't have the skewer tightened properly.

mtbr member
    just be glad it was not your FRONT wheel that did that. *faceplant* always check your skewers before you ride.

Class Clown
    never had that happen make sure it's in the dropouts all the way before tightening the QR. It should be reasonably tight.

Probably drunk right now

At the risk of offending....

What you described isn't normal. "retightening" the skewer isn't normal either.

Here's where I risk offending you (not intentional, just want to cover the bases):

Your skewer is a cam. There is an open position and a closed position. It should be in the closed position at all times unless you want to remove the wheel from the drop outs.

If you have it in the open position and try to tighten it down in the drop outs without moving the skewer lever to the closed position, the wheel will most certainly pop out while you're riding.