1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    Level 5 Rider!

What would you do in my situation?

Hey guys. I just started riding last year, and I am loving it. The thing is that I have an entry level bike and that's really all I can afford at the moment. It is a Giant Revel 4. Right now I have about $200 dollars to spend on upgrades. I know that most recommend not upgrading forks, but the fork that comes with the bike is meant for city use and I am already riding almost all mountain terrain. Been riding some black trails (though with less speed than a lot of you guys I would imagine, and have even been off the actual bike trails) What I am worried about is how sketchy the fork is.

I also kinda hate the gearing ratio on the bike... everyone else that I have riden with has much lower gearing (which on short steep sections doesn't bother me that much, but once it gets to be a long uphill it gets pretty killer)... I don't really know what to do. Selling the bike I would imagine that I wouldn't get much for it and then I would be back to square one. But its got a freewheel... gah so many annoyances.