1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2006

What type of cleats are right for me?

I'm a relative newbie but having lots of fun. I'm riding mostly offroad trails, and single track and that's probaly what I will be riding.
    I have an old Specialized hard rock with no suspension. I find my feet are slipping off a lot when climbing rougher trails or just when it gets rough in corners and stuff.

So i was looking at clipless pedals?
    How do the SPD and egg beater type differ? Is one better performing/easier to use?

What would you recommend? Are all shoes compatable with all pedals? Just a matter of screwing in the right cleats?

I saw a pair of LG eldoroda shoes cheap, and the Crank bros Candy C seem like a decent deal.

Budget is a huge concern for me.

THx guys

mtbr member
    Mar 2006