1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

What pedals and how do I know which kind to get?

I'm new to the off road part. I've been commuting on a low end MB for two years now. I just bought a true off road hard tail but I have no idea what kid of pedals to get. I have never clipped in and I don't like the idea, but from what I read, that is the way to go. I suppose with some practice, I'll get use to it. I understand "clipless" pedals are not what they sound like. Are these the way to go? I've read where some guys talk about riding flat. Does that mean riding with a flat pedal not clipped in?

BTW, great site. I'm trying to learn a lot quickly.
    Thanks,
    Ed

Hardbooter
    Clipless pedals are great fun and will make you a more efficient and powerful rider IF you learn how to use them properly, i.e. pulling up with a considerable amount of force. However, it will take time to use them properly, due to the fact that the hip flexer is generally not a strong muscle unless it is trained.

Clipping in and out is a very basic process, and you will get it down your first day. It's REALLY hard not to figure it all out after a day

However, some people just don't like it; it spooks them knowing they're stuck to the bike.

Aside from what people tell you, do you think you want clipless?