1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: What to get...

mtbr member
    Jul 2012

What to get...

First of all please keep in mind I am just asking for opinions I am not affiliated with any online bike company at all I am just a NOOB! Ok so here is my delema. I am ready to buy my first MTB and am so torn on what to get. I am trying to stay under $800 so LBS is out. I am looking at BAMF, Airbourne and BD. I am also torn about a 29er or a 26 FS. The trails by me are pretty rugged and there is a skills park that has multiple trails for jumps, drops etc. I want a bike that will be able to do a little of everything and take a licking and keep ticking. I am 6ft 240 (I am also looking to get back in shape). I want to get out there and have a blast!

mtbr member
    Jul 2012
    No one has anything to add/suggest come on!!!

MilitaryBrat
    Aug 2012
    I wish I could, I'm a huge noob too. I wish you luck though! I'm learning about all of this myself My used bike is in the shop, waiting rather impatiently for it to be ready next week so I can start whipping myself back into shape!

mtbr member