mtbr member

What to do in case of serious injury?

I started riding last summer, and took off for winter because i only like to ride in the warm temps. But i started off taking it real easy, nothing serious. Then as i got better, i decided to try the hardest (and just about ONLY) trick around. The STEPS. its just afew big boulders stair stepping down, and i totally wiped out, but turned out ok in afew minutes. I shouldnt have tried it on my bike (crap) when ive seen older riders on much better rigs not even think about going down..

But it got me to thinking. I always ride alone.. and i know its gonna happen one of these days. What do i do when i take a nasty spill and I can no longer ride out/drive home.

For instance, what would i do if i broke my leg? Or other serious injury. I often carry gauze and banadages and antiseptic, but I was just thinking what would i do if those werent enough and i could move without serious harm?

Idk.. any general advice? call 911? call other number??? just hoping i dont get stuck in a tight spot some day

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Well, assuming you are conscious; call 911. If you are knocked out, well that is a good example why you should ride popular trails, or ride with a group. How far away from civilization do you ride? For example, both of the parks I frequently ride in are within a 10-15 minute drive to a hospital. But, I am lucky enough that I have not been so seriously hurt that I could not walk out without help.

If you're bleeding badly, put pressure on it. Most of the time, this stops the bleeding, if not you'll need to apply pressure to a pressure point or make a tourniquet.

A broken femur can hold enough blood to cause shock without any external bleeding. Movement could make the bleeding worse and you might not make it out of the woods if you're on your own.

It really depends on the severity of the injury and how far away from civilization you are. You may find a wilderness first aid course worthwhile.