1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

What defects to look for when purchasing a used mountain bike

I am looking at purchasing a used 2011 cobia. I am new to mountain biking so don't know a lot about what breaks or what would fail first on bikes. So I am wanting to know when looking at a used bike does anyone have any suggestions for key things to watch for or look for when checking out the bike before I buy it. Obviously i need to ride it and check the shifting and all out but what other things should i really look at to make sure I am not getting screwed over.

mtbr member
    I've bought a lot of used bikes and the first thing I look at is the condition of the chain and sprockets. If a measurement of the chain shows that it's in good condition and the chain rings and cassette are in similarly good shape then that is usually a pretty fair indicator of the rest of the bike. Conversely, if the chain is really stretched and the teeth on the chain rings look like you could saw wood with them then you are very likely to find other issues. New drivetrain parts can be $100+.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    ^ This and This v