Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

What is chain suck??

29K views 20 replies 14 participants last post by  Varaxis 
#1 ·
I have heard guys talking about "chain suck" on different models of bikes. What exactly is this? Might be a total noob question, but I am lost. Let the bashing begin haha. Thanks guys

#2 ·
Chainsuck is when your chain wraps up around the crank and jams into the frame. Everyone thinks it's a design flaw in frame design but in all honesty with the exception of maybe 2 bike frames, there is no bike design that causes chainsuck. Chainsuck is caused most frequently by worn out, dirty, or unlubed drivetrains.

You could probably have used the search function to figure this all out though.

#7 ·
Screw the search function... you're new, ask the question(s). If anyone gets thier undies in a bunch it's thier problem, not yours.

Chain suck can also be the function of a chain and chain rings that just hate each other. It does happen now and then The 08 Kona Hei-Hei 29ers came with a Shimano Chain and Race Face crank and the combo was chain-suck-o-rama. Switched chains to a SRAM and no more chain suck.

Most chain suck can be prevented with a combination of a well maintained chain and proper shifting habits.

#9 ·
Chain suck can occur on any bike, keep the chain clean and replace before it is too worn
Which also keeps your from having to replace parts such as chain rings and cassettes. Chains are cheap compared to other drivetrain parts. I replace chains often, about every 90days or less with our amount of riding (80+ miles a week). I am always amazed at smooth a new chain shifts.

#11 ·
definitely not a symptom of worn out, unlubed or dirty drivetrains. Happens on some new bikes as well..perhaps on drivetrains not yet "broken in" or components that have not found harmony with each other yet...weird way to say it.