1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

What to buy in addition to a bike, helmet and ride accessories

I am a total Noob so some questions might sound stupid

So after over researching and spending countless hours on the internet I finally ordered 2013 Marin Bobcat Trail 29er (arrives in a week) to learn on a hardtail and then may be next year I can get a real bike after I know what my riding style is.

I wanted to know what items/tools do I need to buy for assembly or regular upkeep of a bike. I plan to assemble it myself and then take it to a LBS for first tune up to be safe.

I did find some posts regarding what to carry on hydration pack and bought few items but I am specifically asking for tools to be kept in the apartment. If you have any suggestions feel free to let me know.

I have already bought a helmet, topeak Alien II multi tool, lezyne micro floor drive( mini pump), tire levers, hydration pack, Gloves

1)I guess I would also need a floor pump- Any recommendations for a pump that can be used on tubeless tires as well as I guess I will upgrade to one in a few months or next year.

2 ) Also regarding a spare tire tube. Is there a size for one or is it generic 29er
    The specs of the bike are
    Hub Rear: Formula, 32 Hole
    Hub Front: Formula, 32 Hole
    Rim: Alex SX44