mtbr member
    Jan 2016

What bike for Central Florida, rider is 43 wants to put LazyBoy on seatpost

I have been riding since 1989 when I bought a Cannondale M500 and put spin wheels. Had a dozen bikes since then. Ten years ago I got out of Mtn biking and switched to road bikes. We moved close to Santos bike trail in Ocala Florida and really want to take advantage of it.

Now that I'm looking to get a bike again so much has changed. 26, 27.5, 29, Fat, and you can add Plus to any of those wheel sizes. Then there is all the drive train choices.

Bike buying mission: spend up to $2500 new or used. I liked the idea of Fatbikes so I rented one yesterday from Santos bike shop (great people btw), it was a rigid Salsa with 26x4" tires. not as cushy as I thought it would be, kept lowering the tire pressure and it helped. Now I think I have it narrowed to a new or used Fatbike with 4.5" tires, a Bluto and a cane creek seatpost. Or find a used 29er FS but I don't think they are as cushy with only 100mm travel. Was wondering is 140mm of travel with max tire size would help the comfort factor? Ocala bike trails are mostly fire roads and technical. at 43 I don't do big jumps just want to hit the blue and yellow trails.
    Last edited by brycesail; 01-03-2016 at 12:50 PM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Suspension is going to be cushier than tires, I'd look for something with 120mm of travel in a 29er.Go test ride some more bikes.

mtbr member
    Jan 2016
    Thanks Ranger, I'm going to go rent a 29er next, and hit Santos again.

mtbr member
    I have a fat bike and a 29erd hardtail. Both are fun, just different. Monster truck vs. sports car.
    "a hundred travel books isn't worth one real trip"

since 4/10/2009
    couple things to think about:

full suspension isn't primarily about comfort. It helps, especially over the course of a long ride on rough terrain, but the primary objective is keeping the rubber in contact with the ground for traction in rough terrain.