Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Weight reduction

I need some help with a 06' specialized sx trail 2 I got off of Craigslist

I ride with an AM/FR setup and I'm new to the sport of mountain biking. It seems real heavy compared to the trek 4300 ht I used to ride. I need some help taking off some weight, because It's getting unbelievably hard to climb. I have about $400 to spend and the bike is mostly aftermarket, so I don't know what I should spend it on.

Specs:

06' specialized sx trail frame
    Fox van r 160mm fork
    Fox dhx 5.0 shock
    2 spd 22/36 Truativ Hussfelt cranks
    Sram x0 10 speed derailleur
    Sram x7 front deraileur
    Sram x9 shifters
    Specialized demo bars
    Truativ hozzfeltzer stem
    Avid juicy 7 brakes w/ 203mm rotors
    Wellgo mg1 pedals
    Blackspire stinger chain guide
    Specialized chunderer 26x3 front/Parnacer smoke classic 26x2.1 rear
    Sram 1070 cassette

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Wheels is where to start .They can make a huge impovement.

Parking Lot Poser
    I think this may be a heavy chassis to begin with.

Wheels & tires are always a good place to start when trying to shave weight, but with a limited budget..... Put the $4 hundy under your mattress so you can bet on the Super Bowl
    feelin good is good enough

mtbr member
    This bike compared to any HT is going to ride heavy; it must weight close to 37lbs.

The geometry with a longer wheelbase will also require more effort for climbing; making it feel even heavier. You could try and adjust the shock mount to change the head angle by 1deg.

Otherwise I would save your money and ride it more; you will strengthen your body and might even like the feel of the bike; especially on the way down!

Fat-tired Roadie Moderator
    What's your goal?