1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Weight reduction

I need some help with a 06' specialized sx trail 2 I got off of Craigslist

I ride with an AM/FR setup and I'm new to the sport of mountain biking. It seems real heavy compared to the trek 4300 ht I used to ride. I need some help taking off some weight, because It's getting unbelievably hard to climb. I have about $400 to spend and the bike is mostly aftermarket, so I don't know what I should spend it on.

Specs:

06' specialized sx trail frame
    Fox van r 160mm fork
    Fox dhx 5.0 shock
    2 spd 22/36 Truativ Hussfelt cranks
    Sram x0 10 speed derailleur
    Sram x7 front deraileur
    Sram x9 shifters
    Specialized demo bars
    Truativ hozzfeltzer stem
    Avid juicy 7 brakes w/ 203mm rotors
    Wellgo mg1 pedals
    Blackspire stinger chain guide
    Specialized chunderer 26x3 front/Parnacer smoke classic 26x2.1 rear
    Sram 1070 cassette

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Wheels is where to start .They can make a huge impovement.

Parking Lot Poser
    I think this may be a heavy chassis to begin with.

Wheels & tires are always a good place to start when trying to shave weight, but with a limited budget..... Put the $4 hundy under your mattress so you can bet on the Super Bowl