1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Upgrading a Trance X4 - have some questions

Hey all,

I am a noob in every sense of the word when it comes to building and upgrading bikes.

With that said, I've had my 2012 Trance x4 for 2 months and have decided to upgrade my fork. (I know now that I should have opted for an x3 or x2, but too late now.)

Anyway, as I understand it, the Trance X4 requires a tapered fork. Since I'm only doing incremental upgrades, I would like to keep my stock wheels. The problem is that all the Fox forks (Talas and Float) that I'm looking at only have tapered forks with 15mm axle. My stock front wheel is 9mm. Is there an adapter of some sort to enable my stock wheel to work with a 15mm QR?

Also, from the little research that I've done, it appears that the 9mm is the standard? So why are all the Fox forks (Talas and Float) that are tapered only come in 15mm QR options?

Thanks everyone!

T.W.O.
    Quote Originally Posted by eeyon View Post
    Hey all,

I am a noob in every sense of the word when it comes to building and upgrading bikes.

With that said, I've had my 2012 Trance x4 for 2 months and have decided to upgrade my fork. (I know now that I should have opted for an x3 or x2, but too late now.)