1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Trek wahoo

mtbr member
    Nov 2013

Trek wahoo

Hi all ,I'm new to mnt biking and looking to get a used bike,I found a wahoo and the guy said it was a 2012 but it is green and black and from what I have read that color came out in 2013. So he wants $350.00 for it said its in great condition other than a few scratches on bottom part of frame. So do you think this bike would be worth the money? Thanks

What could go wrong ...
    first things first ... does the bike fit you?
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Well I haven't actually seen the bike in person yet,but I will ride and make sure all is good and fits and feels right.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Ask him what size it is and go to a Trek dealer and test a current X-Cal for size.
    Check pricing while you are there. Black Friday deals are likely Friday and Saturday.
    The Suntour fork on the Wahoo and other bikes is bike path only according to Suntour.
    So keep that in mind. There is an upgrade program if you have the original receipt for the bike.
    Here's a maintenance vid so you can see what the fork is like.
    Disassembly/maintenance of SR Suntour XCT forks - YouTube