1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Trek Superfly AL Elite vs Specialized Camber vs ???

Hello all. I'm relatively new to CO and looking for a bike that can handle the trails here. I will be doing mostly single track (XC??) and some cruising around with the gf on paved/gravel trails. I am just over 5'6, so my size has been restrictive in my search. I looked at a few shops recently and was steered toward a Superfly AL Elite 29 that fit well and was on clearance for $1799. I was also shown a Specialized Camber FSR 29 at another store for about the same price. Im trying to figure out which would be the better option for trails here and for the price. I am still very new, but I would like a bike I can grow into. Any other suggestions are welcome. Thanks.

Fat-tired Roadie
    Sounds like you've got some MTB experience?

Especially if you already own a serviceable mountain bike, demo, demo, demo.

I tried the Camber the other day and liked it. Though I tried the Comp. I don't like the spec on the base model so much. I have a bike that's needed parts swapped a lot; I'm promising myself "never again."

The Superfly AL Elite, if I'm looking at the right one (hardtail?) comes out of the box with a much nicer build. Which it should - one pays a lot more for full suspension.