1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.

Thread: Trek 6500?

mtbr member
    May 2007

Trek 6500?

Guys...I'm looking to buy my first bike but I'm brand new to riding and I don't want to spend a lot. I will mainly use it for casual riding but who knows...I may get hooked like many of you. That's why I don't want to just buy a piece of junk. Would it be better for me to buy used or new for my first bike?

I can get my hands on a used Trek 6500 ZX in good condition for approx. $200/$250...I think it was bought new in 2001. Is this a decent bike? Is that a reasonable price...not sure what it retailed new?

The other alternative is to buy a brand new bike like the trek 820 or 3700.

What am I better off doing....old 6500 or new?

Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Jul 2003

Hmmm...if the 6500 is in good shape and....