1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Oct 2010

Trek 3700 disc or Diamonback Response (disc)

I am new to mountain biking and am looking at the two subject bikes. I will be doing mostly on road (65-70%), but plan to do some light duty gravel trails and off-road. No racing or heavy duty/hardcore stuff. I probably won't be upgrading the hardware. I just need some help making a decision! The bikes have the following specs/prices and prices:

Trek 3700 Disc - 2011 Model - $449
    Will be purchased at LBS and includes lifetime adjustments.
    SR Suntour XCT 80mm fork
    Shimano M131, 42/34/24 crank
    Cassette
    Shimano EF51 7 Speed shifters
    Shimano TX50 front derailleur
    Shimano M310 rear derailleur
    Shimano TZ31 13-34, 7 speed rear cogs
    Tektro Novela Discs
    Shimano EF51 brake levers
    Bontrager 550 36 hole rims with brushed sidewalls
    Bontrager LT3, 26x2.0" tires
    Wellgo nylon platform pedals

Diamondback Response - not sure what year - $320 online
    SR Suntour XCT V2-LO, 100mm travel forks
    Not sure of the crank, 42/32/22
    Cartridge
    SRAM SX-3 Trigger, 7-speed shifters
    Microshift M-20 front derailleur
    SRAM X-3 rear derailleur
    SRAM PG-730, 12-32, 7-speed rear cogs
    Tektro Novela Disc
    Promax 3 brake levers