1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Dec 2013

Trek 3500 disc worth upgrading?

I just wanted to know what you guys think since I am a noob. Just bought this 3500 disc a couple months ago, but realized that I love MTB and that I want to upgrade my rig, I am thinking if it is worth to upgrade it or if it's better to buy a new one, my budget for a hardtail would be 1000 usd and I was even thinkin on a FS, I like santa cruz bantam, heckler and Jamis dakar xct 27.5 but I think is a little to soon to spend about 3000 usd on a bike.

what you think? better upgrade or sell it before it is older? I do mostly XC but planning going trail when my skills are better

Trek 3500 disc worth upgrading?-img_2913%5B1%5D.jpg

mtbr member
    With the more aggressive geometries of newer frames, its not worth the upgrade but thats not to say it won't work. Just ride the bike until you feel the need to upgrade which maybe much later on and you'll probably get your moneys worth with this bike on the trail. Its fine the way it stands and can handle your XC rides with no problems.

R.I.P. DogFriend