1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Trail conditions

Im new to mtb and i had a few questions regarding trail conditions:

Firstly, ive been researching my local trails and mention was made about "people using the trails when they're not supposed to..."; Im curious what the general feeling about this is. Is considered disrespectful to ride wet/muddy trails?IE:is it wrong if you tear up muddy areas?

Then, after riding the other day and finding a fresh tree fallen on the path: my locals trails are mantained by CAMBA members, but is it bad if i go out one day and cut the tree out?

and finally, is it a bad idea to ride alone?

Id appreciate any help i could get, thanks,

ThERoCkStAr

mtbr member
    It's sort of an unspoken rule here in the Northeast that you wait until "mud season" is over. The soil is especially soft an muddy at that point, and our knobby tires have a tendency to move mud around. If the trail has a few muddy sections, there's not much to worry about, unless people start riding around the mud....that's bad. Riding off trail results in a wider trail that encroaches on the surrounding vegetation, which leads to erosion.
    Ask around at your local shops to see when the season begins in your area.