1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Total noobie here!

To start off, y'all have a lot of excellent advice and many great tools for learning how I should be riding and trail etiquette. My coworker has recently gotten a specialized Hardrock 29 disk (21" frame), which is what got me interested in losing weight and being outside, especially after he let me take it on a trail.

There are many different questions that I have, wheel size, frame size, brakes, seat, gear sets, helmets, shoes, pedals.. the list will never end..

I have been 2 a couple different shops, in the Dallas, TX area.

Here is what I have come up with:

• As a 5'9 233 LBS male with a longer torso than legs, I should be getting a 16-17" frame.
    • Disk brakes are the way to go. Hydraulics aren't necessary at this stage.
    • Seats, gear sets, helmets, shoes, pedals.. don't matter right now.
    • Wheel size is where I get lost on.
      • 29" wheel, have great roll over, a greater inertia, slower acceleration and larger turning radius.
      • 27.5 wheel, have decent roll over, a decent inertia, decent acceleration, decent turning radius. Middle ground of the 3 sizes.
      • 26" wheel, has the "worst" roll over, "worst" inertia, best acceleration, and best turning radius.