1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Total noob with questions.

Hey all, so im a total beginner to the mountain biking scene and i just bought a Diamondback Response 08 and was looking for any tips or anything anyone wants to give me. I also am very interested in adding different better parts to the bike and want to know peoples opinion on the best things to do. Im sure im going to have tons of questions and i'll try and read the threads before i ask. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    The only thins I'd recomment upgrading on a new bike are the contact points, ie: grips, saddle, pedals, tires if any of those you feel are insufficient. Try not to upgrade components until you wear or break them as it leads to a condition known around here as upgraditus and you'll soon find you could have/ should have just bought a much better bike to start with. The best upgrade you can do is learning to ride, better to bust up cheap parts than expensive upgrade parts doing that. The second best upgrade is learning to repair and maintain your bike. The best components immproperly tuned will still be out performed by propperly tuned entry level components. Don't be intimidated by people who tell you that you have to have this or that. Your bike is a great starting point, just get out and enjoy riding.