1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Total noob question re: quick release skewer

I have a 2010 Gary Fisher Cobia 29er. I bought this bike used about 10 days ago, and I'm brand new to mountain biking. The skewers are of the quick-release variety. Here's my question:

When I pop the quick release on the skewer for my rear wheel, it drops right out... but when I pop the quick release on my front skewer, the wheel won't budge! In order to remove the front wheel, I end up having to unscrew the knob on the far side of the quick release to loosen it further before the wheel will drop out.

The result, then, is that when I put the wheel back on and tighten everything back down, I have to readjust my brake calipers since the rotor isn't in the exact same spot laterally. This cannot be right -- what am I missing here?

If it makes a difference, each wheel has the skewer mounted with the quick release lever to the left, alongside the brake rotor.

banned
    Sep 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by jbartlett79 View Post
    I have a 2010 Gary Fisher Cobia 29er. I bought this bike used about 10 days ago, and I'm brand new to mountain biking. The skewers are of the quick-release variety. Here's my question: