1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Sep 2014

Total noob here... Is noise from disc brakes normal? And some other noob questions

Greetings MTBR community!

Since my daughter finally shed her training wheels a few weeks ago I find myself riding alot more than I used to. Yesterday I impulse bought a new bike because my $69 walmart special from over 10 years ago was showing it's age. I picked up a Diamondback Apex 29er. About all I know is that it's an 18" frame, 29" wheels and has hydraulic disc brakes. I was riding around last night and noticed a constant rubbing sound from the discs. Is that normal or does something need to be adjusted? The noise really doesn't bother me, but I just want to make sure I'm not dragging myself too much or will burn up the pads.

Also, I have a trailer that I pull my youngest around with. Now that I have a decent bike with suspension I find myself wanting to ride over anything I see but that doesn't work well with the trailer. Do they make trailers with suspension so I don't knock my son around too much? I put a car seat with 5 points in the trailer at least, but I don't want to beat the poor kid up.

Any other words of wisdom for a noob to real bikes? Any good must have accessories I should look into?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Sep 2014