1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Total Newb Looking to Get Into Mountain Biking

I'm amazed and overwhelmed at the amount of options there are for bikes. I'm also not sure if I should be somewhat skeptical.

Currently my main thing is Snowboarding, I love it and ride the slopes whenever I get a chance. I'm hoping that I can bring biking into the mix.

Of course as a kid I biked all the time and everywhere and have plenty of scars to prove it. But that was on the cheapest of the cheap bikes. My favorite bike as a teen was an old Sears ten speed. It was ugly, but it was light and just the right sitting angle for getting speed down the road.

I'm so much of a newb that I didn't realize shocks were an essential part of mountain biking.

I don't want to spend a lot of money in the short term, but I'd also like to make an investment that's going to last me a while. I want to have a good experience.

I read about derailleurs, shocks, rims, etc. It sounds like there are some definite quality differences out there, but I'm not clear on why I'd want an Sram X7 or X9 vs something much cheaper. What difference does it make?