1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member

Total newb here ...

Ok so I bought the hyper havoc 26" from good ol wally world and originally was just going to be a way to spend time with my son and we have beat down some miles on our bikes this summer for sure. It takes a little bit of beating due to my size, and I'm not scared to jump curbs and hop over parking blocks and ride down stairs and anything else I can claim to be cool to get the boy to be more outgoing. In the mean time it has sparked my inner athlete lol. So now I'm debating hitting my first trail ride with a buddy both us pretty new at this riding business.

What I'm getting at is whether or not this bike is worth upgrading or should I ride and learn and beat this thing to death and get a "good" bike? I guess for information sake I'll include that I am 6'4" 240lbs about 15% body fat. i am in the gym everyday but I also don't limit my food intake lol I workout so I can be good at work and so I can eat ha. Anyways what say you...here's a pic ....oh and please don't flame me too bad I'm very new at all this

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    I peronally would beat it to death while saving for a decent pre-owned rig.