mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Total beginner questions - new Redline Monocog 2009 29er SS

I just picked this bike up and I LOVE it so far. Loving the singlespeed and the feel of the bike. I apologize if this is the wrong place to post SS questions, but I am a beginner.

Questions:

1. What basic things should I try to check / tuneup on the bike? The LBS I bought it from was a bit messy and its just one guy he didn't really do much tuning on it. It was in a back closet so I'd like to give it a little love. I should mention I'm totally new to this.

2. I purchased it with *ONLY* the bike. It was a closeout so I understand but he didn't even give me a manual to read. I emailed redline so that should cover the manual but is there anything else that normally would come with the bike I'm missing.

3. Chain tensioners - I'm confused. I read about using derailers but it seems like that's more for SS converts? What is the best method of tensioning? and where to buy? LBS? online?

4. I noticed the brakes seem to be rubbing on the rim at times - like they are too tight. What is the best way to ensure they're installed properly?

Greatly appreciate the help.

Matt

Pimpmobile
    Mar 2010
    Nice bike!

1) I would just make sure everythings tight and adjusted properly, like the headset, bottom bracket, brakes... Not much to these bikes.

2) The owners manual is available on the Redline website, you shouldn't need anything else.

3) The rear wheel dropouts are horizontal, all chain tensioning is done by sliding the rear axle forward or back. No need for a separate tensioner.

4) You may need to have the wheels trued. You can turn the adjusters on the brake levers in (clockwise) to loosen them up a bit until you do.

I've been considering picking one of these up.. I hear they're quite durable!

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by HamfisT
    Nice bike!