1. The most important thing about buying a new bike is to make sure it fits. The only way you'll know if the bike is right for you is to size up the bike and make sure that the bike's geometry matches your body's geometry. Ask questions and do some research.
mtn. biking 101
2. If possible, try to find a shop that will let you demo the bike on real dirt. Five minutes in a parking lot won't cut it. You wouldn't buy a car without a real world test drive, and a bike should be no different.
3. Don't belive the hype. Just because your favorite rider or best friend rides a certain bike, that doesn't mean that's the best one for you. Have an open mind and be realistic about your needs and ability.
    mtbr member
    Aug 2012

New question here. Tire Suggestions

I am new to this. I actually just got my mtb the other day, but now I need help finding the right tires. Currently the tires are mounted with Vulpine semi-slicks. I would like to know what is a good tire for trail riding and climbing. Rockish type riding I guess.

Are these tires sufficient? What is a better option that won't break the bank?

If you guys are from NJ... tires for the trail Lewis Morris or Patriots Trail.

Really Clueless here.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Sorry you might need more info. I am riding a Specialized 29er Comp 2009

mtbr member
    I bought a set of WTB Exiwolf tires to replace my Kenda Small Block Eights and though I've only ridden on them once, they fair rather well on dirt pack and downhill singletrack (lots of rocks). Haven't tried them in mud or rain, but so far I am pleased with the results.

And they're dirt cheap right here:

WTB Exiwolf Tubeless Tire - 26in | Hucknroll.com

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    hmm.. thanks for the reply 2 slow... but I don't think these will fit on my 29er :-/

mtbr member
    oops didn't see your second post, or I posted before you did.

FWIW, there is a tire and wheel section here on the forums where plenty of pertinent information is going around.